Getting to Know God

But they delight in the law of the LORD, meditating on it day and night. Psalm 1:2

The first time I heard about a plan to read through the Bible in a year was at Bible camp when I was in Middle School.

Open Bible

Ever since then I have had one plan or another tucked inside my Bible. But after the creation, the flood, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and Joseph, and then Moses bringing the children of Israel out of Egypt, the descriptions of land, counting of people and genealogies would weaken my resolve.

I would fall behind in my reading, overwhelmed when trying to catch up and check all the boxes that I’d missed.

Bible studies and devotional guides kept me in God’s Word, but at times it felt more like a fast food diet – filling but lacking the depth my spirit longed for.

Bible study journal

Then a new friend from California whom I’d met at a retreat invited me to read through the New Testament with her and several other women. This eighteen week commitment seemed like a good idea. Besides there weren’t so many places to get bogged down.

Reading through the Bible chronologically was interesting and took a bit of adjustment. What helped me was that each day was laid out under the date. When I fell behind a day or two, I moved ahead to the current date. The more I read, the more I looked forward to my reading time.

So I decided to make another attempt at reading God’s Word in a year.

And though I still miss a day or two each week, something marvelous has happened. God’s story of redeeming us is a thread that flows from beginning to end. The Old Testament, the old covenant of the Law, still has shimmers of grace woven into it.

Congregational window

Our faith grows because we give attention to it, and learn more about who God is and how He wants us to live.

If you feel like your faith is stagnant, I encourage you to be intentional in reading and meditating on God’s word every day. You can also request to join our reading through the Bible group on Facebook. We’d love to have you join us.

Leave a Reply

