Praying for the Future

Last night, we enjoyed the annual 4-H barbecue supper on the beautiful lawns of the 4-H grounds. Not only is it a chance to encourage the youth that work so hard on their projects and exhibits, but it is also an opportunity to see friends and neighbors.

4-H days

Our conversation across the table was a delight, especially after we shared one of our unused napkins, since they had run out and the couple across from us did not have one.

Though I’m not sure how we got there, the talked went back in time to my grandmother and the other couple’s mom/mother-in-law. These two ladies were best friends back in my little home town community, so even though our lives haven’t intersected too often until the past ten years, we share a lot of common stories.

Then came the light-bulb moment.

“We are still coasting on the prayers of those women. They prayed for their children, their children’s children, and the children of those children.”

Psalm 103:17New Living Translation (NLT)

 But the love of the Lord remains forever
His salvation extends to the children’s children.

Wow! As a grandmother, I have prayed for my grandchildren, even before they were conceived. Prayers for health, for a heart that is soft to the Lord , sound minds, and lots of other details as they come along.

But I had not thought before that I could begin praying for their children and even THEIR children–my great-great-grandchildren.

What a legacy to leave my family! For prayers enter the realm beyond time, the place of the Eternal. So long after my life on earth is over, the prayers that I pray now will continue to impact the hearts of those for whom I pray.

Earlier this summer my second cousin visited on a history-seeking journey. We located gravestones of his great uncle, our grandfather’s sister and her husband, his grandmother on his dad’s side, and his dad’s cousins (my mom and aunt).

But when we looked through old wedding photos of our great-grandparents, he commented, “That looks like my dad when he was that age.”

029030

Which prompts me to think that since the genetic pool continues, and the family resemblance crosses multiple generations, I can visualize those future babies and children and young adults that I am praying forward.

So I challenge you to focus some of your prayers into the future for those you love, and those you would love if you were still walking on this side of eternity.

If you don’t know quite what to pray, try praying this from the pen of the Apostle Paul.

Father, out of Your honorable and glorious riches, strengthen Your people. Fill their souls with the power of Your Spirit  so that through faith the Anointed One will reside in their hearts. May love be the rich soil where their lives take root. May it be the bedrock where their lives are founded so that together  with all of Your people they will have the power to understand that the love of the Anointed is infinitely long, wide, high, and deep, surpassing everything anyone previously experienced. God, may Your fullness flood through their entire beings. Ephesians 3:16-19

So PRAY it forward!

2 thoughts on “Praying for the Future

  1. Sheila – this is profoundly thought provoking! Thank you for sharing the apostle Paul’s words – perfect!! May God continue to bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

