Lenten Series: Man of Sorrows

When I was a beginning piano student, this was the first song out of the hymnal that my teacher assigned to me: it was only two lines long and written in the key of C Major.

Butterflies the solo 2013cr

During my early years of motherhood, I read about Joni Eareckson Tada who became a quadriplegic after a diving accident. While she was in the Strycker frame, battling thoughts of suicide but unable to do anything for herself, this hymn “Man of Sorrows” was sung to her.

In the days that followed, the words of this hymn brought her face to face with the reality that her distress was not the only suffering that had ever been experienced. The words of this hymn helped her see that God’s love doesn’t mean a life without difficulties.

Outwardly, my life has been ordinary. Yet I struggled with feelings of acceptance and significance. Financial short-falls, sorting through damaged emotions, and learning to let go of my perfectionism were inner struggles that left me battle-weary.

Joni’s testimony and the words of this hymn were a balm for my soul. Knowing that Christ, the sinless son of God, endured suffering for my salvation encouraged me.

The good news is this: the end of the story is secure-God is the Glorious King, coming to bring us home to His prepared place for us. May these words help you see that God is walking with you through whatever hardships you might face.

 P1040362

Man of Sorrows!

Phillip Bliss

Man of sorrows! What a name
for the Son of God, who came
ruined sinners to reclaim!
Alleluia! What a Savior!

Bearing shame and scoffing rude,
in my place condemned he stood;
sealed my pardon with his blood:
Alleluia! What a Savior!

Guilty, helpless, lost were we;
spotless Lamb of God was he:
full atonement-can it be?
Alleluia! What a Savior!

Lifted up was he to die;
‘It is finished!’ was his cry;
now in heaven exalted high:
Alleluia! What a Savior!

When he comes, our glorious King,
all his ransomed home to bring,
then anew this song we’ll sing:
Alleluia! What a Savior!

DSC00681

2 thoughts on “Lenten Series: Man of Sorrows

Leave a Reply

