Lenten Series: Precious Lord, Take My Hand

A couple weeks ago, one of my friends challenged me to share songs that take me back in time.  During Lent, I’m going to document some of my musical milestones.

Ironically, the week I began this thinking about this series, “Precious Lord, Take My Hand” was a huge Beyonce YouTube hit with nearly seven million views. Yet the powerful message came through with a simple acoustic guitar accompaniment the first time I heard it.

Polly Johnson_I Found the Answer_LP

Singing in a small country church that held a maximum crowd of seventy-five or eighty people if they were standing shoulder-to-shoulder along the wall, Polly Johnson sang with soul-filled passion. She had found the satisfaction that comes from seeking after God, not the status and success of the fickle following of fans.

That song stuck in my six-year-old head, thinking the life of a traveling musician must be pure joy. For several weeks I daydreamed about becoming a talented, musical evangelist, or at least a dedicated one.

Then one day, my parents somberly shared the news that Polly’s airline flight had ended in a fiery crash. The only thing left intact was Polly’s Bible. Everything else exploded into small, indistinguishable pieces.

That old spiritual “Precious Lord” kept ringing in my mind and the question of my own eternal destiny, had I been on that flight, pestered my aching, guilty, little-girl heart.

Some say that young children don’t understand enough to make a serious commitment to the Lord. However, I am confident that when I prayed by my mother’s bedside that summer afternoon, my eternal life was secure in Him.

child-praying

Take My Hand Precious Lord

Thomas A. Dorsey, 1932

Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I’m tired, I’m weak, I’m lone
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home

When my way grows drear precious Lord linger near
When my light is almost gone
Hear my cry, hear my call
Hold my hand lest I fall
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home

When the darkness appears and the night draws near
And the day is past and gone
At the river I stand
Guide my feet, hold my hand
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.

Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I’m tired, I’m weak, I’m lone
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.

Leave a Reply

