Word of the Year 2015 “Decrease”

The challenge for the new year is to choose a word of focus for 2015.

I’ve pondered this for nearly a week now. I looked over some of my goals for the coming year: 1) lose ten pounds 2) do something active after piano lessons 3) get rid of excess: clothing, decor items, craft scraps and supplies 4) begin work on my mom’s photos so we can enjoy them and tell the stories 5) continue to work on reading one book at a time, excepting the Bible and my chosen devotional book.

At first I considered “simplify” but I started last year working at that. It seemed nebulous. And then we were side-tracked by caring for Kenne’s mom through her last months.

“Less” was considered, but it seemed so negative. Which is actually more about my perspective, I guess!

Last night, as I laid down to sleep, I rested my “one word” choice in God’s hand. (One would think I’d learned to do that sooner!)

“Decrease” popped into my mind.

“That works for food in my refrigerator, clothes in my closet, pounds on my body, blood sugar levels. But, but, but…I don’t want my relationship with God to decrease!”

God answered with His word, “He must increase, but I must decrease.” John 3:30

Bible & tea cup

So for 2015, “decrease” it is!

I’ll decrease my pride and share some of my struggles, show you my messes, celebrate my successes.

bottles and cans

And I’ve learned that YOU, my friends and readers, will be contributors to whatever gains I make in “decreasing.” (Oxymoron!) Knowing that you are out there helps keep me accountable. Even if I never hear from you. But even more so if I do.

This is a place where we can be real and share our challenges, our strategies, what works, and what doesn’t.

I want more of God in my moments and my mission, and less of so many other things that distract from what He has planned for me. “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10

So, join in. Choose a word for 2015. I’ll even share mine.

“DECREASE”

One thought on “Word of the Year 2015 “Decrease”

  1. Sheila,
    Thanks for introducing yourself over by leaving a comment on my post for Deeper Waters Ministry…I found your site by looking at their list of writers…”Decrease” is a great word…I’ve been thinking about John the Baptist lately as I’m reading Karen Kingsbury’s book, The Family of Jesus…Glad we met and that we’re both writing for DW 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

