Be Not Afraid

The past month has whirled past as Kenne’s mom, Evelyn, experienced the final days of an eighteen month battle with cancer.  And as a daughter-in-law who shared the same farm yard with her for thirty-six years, it was my privilege to walk alongside of her.

325

Hers was a quiet faith and a servant heart: helping me butcher chickens, paint the out-buildings, sweep down outside cobwebs, entertain our daughters, tidying up Kenne’s shop (though at times he didn’t appreciate it), teaching me how to keep a beautifully mowed yard.  Nearly every morning for many of those years, we walked and talked about diverse subjects. Without hesitation, she shared her years of experience unreservedly.

When her health necessitated more supervision than my husband and I were able to offer, she graciously agreed and participated in the move to assisted living.

Open Bible

As we sat with her during the last days of failing physical strength, we read from her Bible. Isaiah 43 was a comfort to me as I read to her:

-I have called you by name

-I have chosen you

-I will strengthen you

-I will hold you up

-I have ransomed you

Don’t be afraid, for I am here to help you.

I am the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel.

                                I will go with you through the deep waters

                                I will be with you in the fire of oppression

                                I will pour out water to quench your thirst

                                I will pour out my Spirit on your descendants

One of Evelyn’s last verbal testimonies has challenged my faith. As her daughter expressed her sadness at the hours we could not be with her, she replied, “I may be here without my family, but I am never alone.  God is always with me, and God is good.”

2013-08-05 15.09.58

How are you building on the foundation, the chief Cornerstone, to leave a faith legacy for your family and friends?

hands

Leave a Reply

