Anatomy of a Sin Addiction

Proverbs  6:16-19 lists seven things the Lord hates: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that kill the innocent, a heart that plots evil, feet that race to do wrong, a false witness who pours out lies, a person who sows discord in a family.

Image

Most times I breeze right over that list, as most of my failures or sins seem like things God will easily forgive.

But today, the Holy Spirit grabbed my attention, made me slow down, and convicted me that I have done all of these.

Nearly twenty years ago I chose a sin addiction.

It didn’t start as a sin addiction. At the beginning, I felt like the Apostle Paul, “I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate.” Romans 7:15

If I had paid attention, Solomon paves the path of a sin addiction, step by step.

First: haughty eyes, or thinking that either I’m strong enough to not get snared by my side trip into sin, or that I’ll never by tempted by a certain type of sin.

Second: the lying tongue. I was telling “little white lies” to cover my actions.

Third: hands that kill the innocent. While I didn’t literally kill anyone, my actions impacted the innocent and forced them to deal with the fall-out from my actions. I DID kill their innocent spirits.

Fourth: a heart that plots evil. I began to connive ways that would free up time so that I could pursue my sin.

Fifth: feet that race to do wrong. When I managed to find time, I would let other responsibilities slide or pass them off on someone else so I could run off.

Sixth: a false witness who pours out lies. In order to cover up my sin, my whole life became a fountain of lies. By this time, I realized that I was bound by the sin, that I had lost my freedom.

Seventh: a person who sows discord in a family. While the results of this weren’t obvious until I confessed, there were signs of turmoil within my family during the time I clung to my addiction.

Sometimes it takes years for the truth of Scripture to sink in to our minds and hearts.

Image

But the glorious news is that as we stay in God’s word, even during a season of sin addiction, His counsel is “a lamp and their instruction a light: their corrective discipline is the way to life.” Proverbs 6:23  His Spirit will not bring peace until we confess, and He will heal us and restore us and even allow us to have a ministry in His body.

Thanks be to God! 1 Corinthians 15:57

Image

Today I am a guest over at Michelle DeRusha’s series “I Am a Beloved Misfit.”

http://michellederusha.com/2014/06/recess-failure-i-am-a-spiritual-misfit-series/

“Spiritual Misfit: A Memoir of Uneasy Faith” tells Michelle’s story of coming to faith inch-by-inch when her childhood faith failed to make God accessible or relevant to her life.

I’m offering a give-away on July 1 of Michelle’s book “Spiritual Misfit” to one reader who comments on today’s post “Anatomy of a Sin Addiction.”

5 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Sin Addiction

Leave a Reply

