Where Does Time Go

Have you ever felt like there is not enough time?

The writer of Ecclesiastes says there “For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.”

Image

Solomon says that nearly everything we grasp for – pleasure, knowledge, work, power, and wealth – is futile.  All of these things require our time. The subtle temptation to enjoy more, know more, work more, control more, have more can consume us. And at the end of the day, we are spent, used up, feeling like time has been stolen away from us.

So how do we change our perception of time?

Image

It begins with revamping how we view time. My changing outlook on time began when I looked at what I had DONE in a day rather than what still remained on my “To Do” list. As I headed the car anywhere, I purposely relaxed my shoulders and enjoyed the scenery rather than tensing up because I was behind schedule.

And I discovered that I was accomplishing more than it felt like, and the car trip could be an oasis-on-wheels.

A few years later, I began to think intentionally about Sabbath rest.  About a year ago, I discovered and subscribed to Shelly Miller’s Sabbath Society. http://redemptionsbeauty.com/sabbath-society/

I made a list of things that brought me enjoyment without spending a lot of money or even leaving home overnight.  Blowing bubbles, “push unders” on the swing, roasting marshmallows, jumping on the trampoline, reading a book or a chapter, playing piano take time, but mostly they take intention.

Image

Image

Nurturing relationships, with God, family, and friends, take time, require intention, necessitate self-sacrifice.

And Solomon was right.  There is a time for everything under the sun that is important.

2 thoughts on “Where Does Time Go

Leave a Reply

