Make Me A Servant

Anticipation of Vacation Bible School trumped the excitement of the last days of school.  What would we have to bring? If it was something more than Bible, pen and crayons, perhaps we would create some cool crafts.

One year we made pictures using feathers.  Using a black covered board and hot pink feathers, what a striking piece I created. (Though I can’t imagine the mess of feather art for thirty or forty students.)

Image

Another year we glued eighth-inch tiles between a pattern of popsicle sticks to make a trivet for casseroles. I remember one of the teenage helpers helping create a symmetrical pattern for my trivet. (Ah, the power of just a little attention!)

When the postcard came announcing the details for this year, I was ecstatic. Our Vacation Bible School classroom was one of my favorites.

It was the “pass through” room at the bottom of the back stairway. Though it was not big, nearly every class either had to walk through our room, or we could hear the upstairs “big kids” leave for recess or craft time.

This location put us “in the know.”

And we had been deemed old enough to have graduated from the kidney-shaped table that held glue, scissors and crayons under the hinged lid.

Though we six crowded around the table, it was nearly grown-up height. It was too tall for the little wooden chairs, so we were promoted to the skinny green folding chairs. However, the temptation for the boys to lean back and fold themselves along with the chair was a burr of contention for our teacher.

Needless to say, our teacher had more challenges than most in keeping our attention focused.  And truthfully, there is not much more that I remember about that year.

Except. One. Thing.

The key verse of Scripture for the week.

All the stories pointed back to this one verse.  And she made us recite it two times in the morning and twice in the afternoon. (Like she thought we couldn’t learn it in a day!)

Mark 10:45,King James Version (KJV)

45 For even the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many.

Midway through the week, we’d say it after grumbling, or eye-rolling, or mumbling through it, in which case, she’d make us say it again.

But we all said it.

And for me, it stuck!

This praise chorus, “Make Me a Servant” reminds me of this verse.  And it reminds me that if Jesus came to serve, I should be willing to be a servant.

And as we commence our Lenten journey, asking Him to make us humble and meek seems like the right place to begin.

Image

Make Me a Servant by Kelly Willard

  • Make me a servant humble and meek
    Lord let me lift up those who are weak
    And may the prayer of my heart always be
    Make me a servant make me a servant
    Make me a servant today
Leave a Reply

