My Lord Knows the Way Through the Wilderness

Imagine the back-breaking work of building pyramids.

Feel the heart-break of mothers whose baby boys are ripped out of their arms and thrown into the Nile River.

Cower in terror as the water source turns to blood.

Hear the squish of frogs underfoot, so thick you can’t take a step between them.

Fight the urge to itch the gnat bites, gnats so numerous that day turns to night.

Then a reprieve, though you hear rumors of neighboring villages being black with flies, coping with the stench of dead livestock.

Soon there comes a report of mysterious boils breaking out on everyone in surrounding neighborhoods.

A few days later, the skies rage and churn from gray to black to green to ice-white. Hail destroys all the crops of nearby areas.

Then, with little remaining in the fields, the skies darken once again. Locusts march like a conquering army, consuming any stalk or leaf that escaped the ice-pounding.

Then comes the word.  The word awaited.

Kill the lamb and place the blood on the doorposts of your home. Make bread without yeast for you must eat quickly.  Ask your neighbors for their gold and jewelry.  When the food is ready, eat with your shoes on, for you must be ready to go.

So begins the journey of the children of Israel out of Egypt, bondage, slavery toward the Promised Land.

The Red Sea prevents them from running away from Pharaoh and his chariots. They are afraid. And God tells them to stand still and watch as He fights for them.

Then God makes a way through the sea, using the means of deliverance to destroy the army of Pharaoh.

The mighty hand of God revealed His power to all the people.

Now they face the wilderness. Shouldn’t they trust Him, this God that brought them out of Egypt, a land of slavery and depravation?

Time and again, the people complained.

Over and over, God met their needs and gave them their desires. His presence was with them in a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night.

All they needed to do was follow.

That’s all that I need to do.

But many times, I’m more like the children of Israel than I care to admit.

I want my own way.

I think I know better.

I don’t trust that God is big enough and strong enough and smart enough to meet my need.

His Word is full of stories of His faithfulness, His promises, His love, His mighty arm.

Creation glows with His majesty, His splendor, His imagination.

His gift of love in Jesus came to be my Passover Lamb, the perfect, unblemished sacrifice.

I want to follow better.

I want to trust more.

I want to learn to walk by faith.

My Lord knows the way thru the wilderness –

All I have to do is follow;

My Lord knows the way thru the wilderness –
All I have to do is follow.
Strength for today is mine all the way,
And all I need for tomorrow;
My Lord knows the way thru the wilderness –
All I have to do is follow.

Words and Music by Sidney E. Cox
© 1951 Singspiration/ASCAP.  All rights reserved
Used by permission of Brentwood-Benson Music Publishing, Inc.

2 thoughts on “My Lord Knows the Way Through the Wilderness

  1. It seems like it should be so simple. But then life happens and we make quick decisions on our own, not waiting to see how God would solve our problems.
    Mary

    Like

Leave a Reply

