Simplicity, part 2

Simplicity.

The thoughts have been jumbled and jangled in my head since I last pressed the “post” button.

Many areas seek organizing – kitchen, closets, book stacks, mail piles, music files, even computer files.

But when I try to make sense of it in black and white, the thoughts fly off to places diverse and complex.

So today, another approach traveled.

Today reflect on moments that felt complete, simple. To learn for the future from the past.

Summertime swinging under the shade tree, humming tunes that flowed from my heart.

Image

Playing piano pieces that had been mastered, not for performance, but for pure pleasure.

Writing to a camp friend on blue striped paper cut from the side of HOLLY sugar bag, eager to see what unique material she would return.

Coffee time or walking with friends, sharing the everyday, profound things of life.

Image

Playing a game with family or friends, not remembering who wins, but the shared experience.

A Bible verse or phrase from a hymn keeps rising to the top of my thoughts.

Quiet reflection with a contented baby in my arms, hunger pains satiated, muscles relaxed into sweet slumber smiles.

Baking cut-out cookies with no purpose but the sheer pleasure of my granddaughter’s banter as frosting and sprinkles go on cookies, counter, roll on the floor.

Image

Choosing to read for pleasure even when tasks line the “to do” list.

Stirring up and freezing home-made ice cream, remembering it as one of my dad’s favorite pleasures.

In my world of excesses, I wonder if I have it all wrong.

Do I need to reduce the things I have? Perhaps that is part of it. But adjusting my thinking might be more of the solution.

Recognizing time is a measure and that I have a choice how to use it.

Learning to allow for space and silence.

Choosing what fills my time, rather than choosing time-fillers.

Simplicity may be placing the “rocks” into my life first. The BIG non-negotiable things that I want people to remember about me. “Her heart was turned toward God.” “She loved her family.” “She made time to serve her friends.”  “She blessed those that touched her life.”

Years ago, my aunt told about a recluse neighborhood family that lived in a battered and worn down shack, filled with filth. Though the children attended school, their rancid body odor excluded them from invitations to play and invited name-calling and bullying.

One year, my cousin got to have a birthday party and a girl from that family was in her grade so her mom insisted she be included. That invitation led to interaction with the family, rides to Sunday school and church, and greetings at the grocery store.

A few years later, my aunt prepared food to help out when a new baby was born.  To her surprise, the shanty, though still run-down, was much cleaner. Clean enough that my aunt accepted the invitation to sit for a cup of coffee.

After admiring the new addition and sharing other neighborly news, my aunt commented about how “spruced up” the place looked.

“Thank you,” replied the mom. “I got to thinking that if Jesus lived in me, He could see my house.  When I looked at it through His eyes, I saw how dirty it was.  I couldn’t have my Savior live in such a mess.”

What are your rocks? What stands in the way of making room for those important things in your life? What one thing can you do the rest of January to clear space or time for an essential?

Image

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,Look full in His wonderful face,

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,  In the light of His glory and grace.

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/645#ixzz2qZoCxgwf

As I look to Jesus, He is my Rock and He will change my heart.  And as my heart changes, so will my surroundings.

And when I can get those changes down into words that resonate with my heart, I will share them here.  I look forward to hearing your stories, too!

2 thoughts on “Simplicity, part 2

  1. Well said and the rock metaphor is interesting. Since the middle ages people have been leaving rocks on the tops of mountains in Spain to represent their burdens and sins. I’m glad that I have Jesus to carry my rocks for me.

    Like

    • I didn’t know that about rocks in Spain. I was thinking the big rocks could represent the important, though often not urgent, things in one’s life and then fit in the smaller things that often crowd out the things we really want!

      Like

Leave a Reply

